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 In this quiz, the stakes on each deal are high.  Oh, not anything so trivial as coin 
of the realm, but large numbers of IMPs.  No small swings for us.  Here, classified 
according to the relevant facet of the game, are some opportunities for you to make a 
difference.   
 
1) Bidding: 
      Both vulnerable.  South holds 
 ♠AKJ10754 
 ♥Q86 
 ♦ 
 ♣A107 
 
                                                 SOUTH      WEST      NORTH      EAST 
                                               1♠           Pass        2♣           Pass 
                                        2♠           Pass         3♣*        Pass 
                                        4♦**       Dbl.         4♥           Pass 
                                        7♣           Pass        Pass           7♦ 
                                         ? 
*  Game forcing, shows a good suit. 
** Shortness 

 
The 4D bid seemed like a good idea at the time, and it rocketed us to what seems like a 
laydown grand; but it was not without its price.  It feels as though East may have done 
the right thing.  Now what? 
 
2) Opening lead: 

N-S vulnerable.  South holds 
 ♠8 
 ♥9754 
 ♦-- 
 ♣AKQJ9842 
 

NORTH          EAST          SOUTH         WEST 
                                         2♠*             4♥              5♣            6♥ 
                                         7♣               Dbl.           Pass           7♥ 
                                         Pass             Pass           Pass  
* Weak  
 
Although you might like to make the insurance call of 8♣, the rules require you to lead 
instead.  What will work? 
 



3) Defense: 
Neither vulnerable 

 
    WEST       NORTH      EAST        SOUTH 

             Pass         Pass        Pass         1♠        
                                              Pass          2♦*       Pass         6♠     
                                              Pass         Pass        Pass 
 
*three-card limit raise 
 
 NORTH 
 ♠Q73 
 ♥QJ5 
 ♦K974 
 ♣KJ9 
 
 EAST 
 ♠-- 
 ♥K962 
 ♦J1063 
 ♣AQ1054 
 
Partner, West, leads the diamond five.  Declarer covers with the seven, and your jack is 
taken by the ace.  The club six is led toward dummy, covered by West’s eight and 
dummy’s jack.  How will you defeat this slam? 
 
4) Poker: 

Neither vulnerable.  South holds 
 ♠AJ954 
 ♥8 
 ♦4 
 ♣AKJ953 
 

WEST      NORTH      EAST       SOUTH 
     2♦*        Pass        Pass           2♠** 
                                          Pass        2NT        Pass          3♣** 
                                          Pass        3♥          Pass          3NT** 
                                          Pass        Pass         Dbl.            ? 

 
* Weak  
** Who knows?   
 
Perhaps you and partner might like to adopt some conventional methods for this situation, 
but at the moment you have none.  At least you managed to mention both suits.  Now 
what? 



Results 
 
1) If you chose to bid 7S, you are in (ahem) good company.  It certainly looks as though 

defending is tantamount to accepting a large loss.  Collecting 1100 or 1400 against 
your entitlement of 2140 will be costly.  A forcing pass lets partner make the last 
mistake, but what does it show?  The diamond ace?  Partner can hardly know to bid 
7♠ with the singleton queen or two small.  

                                      NORTH 
 ♠-- 
 ♥AK75 
 ♦86 
 ♣KQJ9864 
 
 WEST EAST 
 ♠Q983 ♠62 
 ♥103   ♥J942 
 ♦AQJ752   ♦K10943 
 ♣3   ♣52 
 
 SOUTH 
 ♠AKJ10754 
 ♥Q86 
 ♦-- 
 ♣A107 
 
But alas, the 7♠ call is a mere 22 IMPs worse than the alternative.  The estimate that 7♦ 
would be a good save was correct (-5 for 1100), but your counterparts did not reach 7♣.  
In fact, they got all the way to 5♠.  So you lose 13 by trying the spade grand, and could 
have won 9 by defending. 



 
2) Can it be right to cash an ace against a grand?  Only in real life, not in a published 

hand.  Sure enough, the real-life deal was: 
 

NORTH 
 ♠AKJ754 
 ♥-- 
 ♦8652 
 ♣1065 
 
 WEST EAST 
 ♠Q109632   ♠-- 
 ♥1086   ♥AKQJ32 
 ♦KQ43   ♦AJ1097 
 ♣--   ♣73 
 
 SOUTH 
 ♠8 
 ♥9754 
 ♦-- 
 ♣AKQJ9842 
 
Either black-suit ace gets ruffed off (just as their red-suit lead would have been ruffed if 
they let you play 7♣!), but the spade sets the contract.  Your heart nine just barely gets 
promoted as East tries to get to hand in order to trump his two clubs.  At the other table, a 
spade lead set 7♣x, so the club lead is 22 IMPs worse than the spade lead. 



 
3) Win the club queen and return a diamond.  Simple game, bridge.  Grab whatever 

tricks you can, as cheaply as possible, and return partner’s lead.  This is not a tricky 
hand where you’re supposed to, say, win a deceptive club ace and somehow talk 
declarer out of the heart finesse. 

 NORTH 
 ♠Q73 
 ♥QJ5 
 ♦K974 
 ♣KJ9 
 
 WEST EAST 
 ♠984   ♠-- 
 ♥1043   ♥K962 
 ♦Q85   ♦J1063 
 ♣8732   ♣AQ1054 
 
 SOUTH 
 ♠AKJ10652 
 ♥A87 
 ♦A2 
 ♣6 
 
At the table, East won the club queen (good!), and returned the heart two (bad, very 
bad!).  The seven drew West’s ten, and after running the trumps declarer reached this 
annoying position, with East to discard: 
 NORTH 
 ♠ 
 ♥Q 
 ♦K 
 ♣K 
 
 WEST EAST 
 ♠ ♠ 
 ♥4   ♥K9 
 ♦Q8   ♦J 
 ♣   ♣A 
 
 SOUTH 
 ♠ 
 ♥A8 
 ♦2 
 ♣ 
 



East postponed the awful moment by discarding a diamond, but when declarer crossed to 
the board in that suit, there was no card East could spare.  A diamond return at trick three 
ends all squeeze threats by breaking the link to dummy.  A successful alternative is the 
return of the heart nine rather than the deuce; that preserves West’s ten and the defenders 
can survive the pressure.  With the normal 4S making 5 at the other table, a losing return 
is 21 IMPs worse than a winning one. 
 
4) I don’t know if there is a theoretically correct call, but I can tell you the result if you 

pull to 4♣.  You will score +150, as opposed to +550 if you pass or +400 if you 
somehow divine to pull to 5♣. 

 NORTH 
 ♠107 
 ♥AJ652 
 ♦K73 
 ♣Q87 
 
 WEST EAST 
 ♠632   ♠KQ8 
 ♥Q73   ♥K1094 
 ♦AJ10986   ♦Q52 
 ♣10   ♣642 
 
 SOUTH 

 ♠AJ954 
 ♥8 
 ♦4 
 ♣AKJ953 

 
Bridge math is peculiar.  For you, the losing decision to pull costs 10 IMPs; the one IMP 
you lose (against 170 in 3♠) rather than the 9 IMP gain you would have achieved by 
sitting it out (you didn’t seriously consider redoubling, did you?).  But consider the fate 
of the hero of the deal, East.  By boldly doubling a cold contract in a auction where no 
one knew if it would make, so that a pull was highly likely, East swung a mere 7 IMPs 
(gaining one instead of losing six).   


